top of page
  • Writer's pictureRACERS

W-Series to award FIA super licence points to first 8 drivers

The all-female W-Series championship revealed details of how it will allocate its highly anticipated 2020 FIA Super Licence points.

The all-female championship W-Series revealed the allocation of its FIA Super Licence points, which will be awarded to the first eight drivers of the 2020 final championship standings.

With the FIA Super Licence system, young drivers score points that are vital to their Formula 1 climb and ultimate promotion: to be eligible for a F1 seat, a driver must in fact accumulate at least 40 Super Licence points over the previous three seasons.

W-Series did not award FIA Super Licence points in its debut season, as often is the case for new championships. As highly anticipated, though, the International Federation recognized the all-female championship as eligible for Super Licence points from its sophomore season onwards, a further recognition for the series led by Catherine Bond-Muir: “We’re delighted that the FIA has made the decision to award Super Licence points to W Series’ most successful drivers from the 2020 season onwards, thereby adding to the importance of W Series as a ‘feeder’ series for female drivers who aspire to race in more senior championships." - said the CEO, who also highlighted the importance for W-Series drivers to pursue a future in mixed championships.

“Indeed, now that the first eight in the W Series championship will accrue Super Licence points, W Series has become an even more important rung on the motorsport ladder for female drivers whose ambition is to race and one day beat male drivers in the FIA Formula 3 Championship, which is logically the next rung on the ladder for them, and beyond.”

W-Series will reward 15 points to its champion and will grant points to the first eight drivers, positioning the championship on the level of Formula Renault Eurocup, Euroformula Open, Super Formula Lights (former All-Japan F3) and Indy Lights.

“Personally, I’m delighted that W Series has been further recognised by the FIA via the allocation of Super Licence points, the holy grail in any driver’s aspiration to become a Formula 1 driver." - commented Advisory Board Chairman David Coulthard.

“Irrespective of where our current W Series drivers may race in future, the FIA’s decision confirms my absolute belief that W series is essential in developing female talent and giving female drivers the opportunity to develop their skills so as to become successful professional racing drivers in the future."

“I would like to thank the FIA president, Jean Todt, for his vision and support ahead of what is only the second season of the W Series championship.” - added the former F1 driver.

The allocation of Super Licence points was likely the key element in the return of Jamie Chadwick and Beitske Visser for a second year in the championship. The 2020 champion, however, will not be allowed to defend her title, as per regulations of the FIA Super Licence system.

W-Series 2020 Super Licence Points Allocation

1st place: 15 FIA Super Licence points

2nd place: 12 FIA Super Licence points

3rd place: 10 FIA Super Licence points

4th place: 7 FIA Super Licence points

5th place: 5 FIA Super Licence points

6th place: 3 FIA Super Licence points

7th place: 2 FIA Super Licence points

8th place: 1 FIA Super Licence point

Ph Credits:



bottom of page